2000 Twitter followers, and more

 

 

We recently hit 2000 followers on Twitter. This is brill! As a reward, the magic follower, The Good Bad Movie Club at the Prince Charles Cinema (or the person behind its Twitter account) has been invited to take up an offer of a personalised donation service. What does this mean? The next time they bring a bag of donations into the shop, we’re going to track it from donation to sale. This includes signing them up to Gift Aid if they’re a taxpayer, thanking them, sorting the donation downstairs, deciding what we can/can’t sell (and explaining why we can’t if we can’t, and what happens to the items next), pricing the items, then placing them on the shop floor for sale. We’ll put them behind the till and if/when the items sell, we’ll try and find out what the customer buying them is going to use them for, or why they’ve bought them.

This mini-social anthropology experiment will manifest in a blogpost in a couple of weeks time, so keep your eyes here for an update!

=

Other news n’ stuff while I’m here:

We’ve got another poetry night coming up in a few weeks: on Wednesday March 14 we’ll be hosting the launch of Tim Cockburn’s Salt Publishing pamphlet, Appearances in the Bentinck Hotel. We’re very excited about this because Tim is awesome, and we’ll have readings by Theo Best, Chrissy Williams and Matthew Gregory to help celebrate Tim’s book.

We had an unusual volunteer in our shop on Saturday – Daphne is in London til tomorrow from Singapore, on a challenge to live by social media for a week — she can’t buy food or pay for accommodation, and she stopped by our shop to help out and publicise her trip. She was a great help! Follow her adventures here.

6 responses to “2000 Twitter followers, and more

  1. I’m not that much of a internet reader to be honest but
    your blogs really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your website to come back down the road. Cheers

  2. Way cool! Some extremely valid points! I appreciate
    you writing this write-up and also the rest of the site is extremely
    good.

  3. For newest news you have to visit internet and on web I found this site as a finest web page for most
    recent updates.

  4. Today, while I was at work, my cousin stole
    my apple ipad and tested to see if it can survive a 25 foot drop,
    just so she can be a youtube sensation. My iPad is now destroyed and she has 83 views.
    I know this is totally off topic but I had to
    share it with someone!

  5. I don’t even understand how I ended up here, however I believed this put up was great. I do not know who you are but definitely you are going to a well-known blogger for those who aren’t
    already. Cheers!

  6. Fantastic blog! Do you have any hints for aspiring writers?
    I’m planning to start my own site soon but I’m
    a little lost on everything. Would you suggest starting with a free platform
    like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many options out there that
    I’m completely confused .. Any ideas? Thanks a lot!

Leave a Reply

